Are YOU a Patriot?

By reading my intro, you know by now that I am a shooting nut.
For fun, I go to the range. For stress relief, I go to the range. When I plan a date with my husband, we go to the range. Every once in a while, we change it up and clean our guns instead.

But this first post is not about guns, at least not directly. It is about being a Patriot (not the football team-I’m a hater of THOSE Patriots). If you look up Patriot in the dictionary, you see the definition as “one who loves his or her country and supports its authority and interests” and that is what I am. So much a patriot that I think of the authorities that founded this country and spent days and nights writing the Constitution. How they worked so hard to agree on a set of rights that would represent this new nation and ensure the citizens of this nation would never be oppressed as they were in their homelands. The right to religion, land, free thought, free speech, arms and on and on.

I have political views on things, but we won’t go into that right now. What I do want to talk about is what being a patriot is to me.

I talk to so many people who deem themselves patriots of the United States and in the same sentence insult the cultures and people of other nations. We were founded on the acceptance of EVERYONE. Maybe not their governments per se, but the people’s right to be free. To me being a Patriot is not a hater of anything un-American, because America is a melting pot and mix of every great culture out there. We are all people who came to this great country because we want to embrace life and live it fully without someone else telling us how to or how not to. I don’t have to agree with everything my neighbors do, but as an American I do respect that they have the right to believe and do what they want, as long as it does not infringe on my own right to believe and do what I want.

Why is there not any real “American” food? Because everything we eat and breathe is a culmination of peoples from around the world bringing it here for us to share with one another.
Welcome to Ladies First my friends!

Leave a Reply

